Charlottetown Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.67 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:39:08 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    have been a fan of Star Wars for as long as I can remember. Every Star Wars film, including the prequels, has had moments that gave me goosebumps, the feeling I would always use to measure how a film made me feel. I had no such goosebump moment in The Last Jedi. The best word I can use to describe my experience is contempt. From very near the start of the movie, I felt an ever deepening pit forming in the bottom of my stomach. So much life is wasted in this film, heroic moments are ruined by modern sounding one liners or gestures. Luke might as well have dabbed in that scene near the end when the director wanted him to look like a badass. Why has the technology of Star Wars degraded so much and become so inconsistent? Sure, the sound and visuals were great, and the music was awesome as always thanks to John Williams, but most movies look and sound great today so that is no longer the mark of a good film. This film has no heart, no soul, or care for what came before

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:38:58 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    About 2hr 30 min after, watching TLJ, I left the theater confused, (I understand why people had to watch TLJ 2 or 3 more times. And not in a good way). I slept it over. Woke up the next day. Thought about TLJ. Became more and more angry as I thought about TLJ. Slept again. Today, 2 days after watching TLJ = MORE ANGRY as I think about TLJ. Critique of TLJ = Really weak story, plot holes after plot holes after plot holes, weak characters with little development (Sadness here - Rey, Fin, Poe deserved to shine in this episode...WASTED!), characters introduced who are inconsequential, storylines that go nowhere, forced SJW-3rd wave feminist messaging almost every other scene. (There has ALWAYS been strong men AND women in the sw universe but now only women are strong, smart, courageous, wise....okay....), forced out of place/oddly timed humour (Oh my god the phone joke!), brisk pacing for a 2hrs++ movie which remarkably lacks substance or depth ending up with heroes I am uninterested cheering for, villains that are not threatening. Then, how TLJ handled an iconic character which has been celebrated for pass a good 40 years....disrespectful. Excellent visuals and music though, which seems to be what matters these days. Ultimately you start to have the feeling that the director/writer of TLJ is giving you, star wars fans and the star wars mythos the middle finger all throughout the movie. Self indulgent, self satisfied, talentless hack. Who the f**k gave the greenlight for Rian Johnson to touch the star wars ip? People need to get fired for this. Thank god Rian Johnson was nowhere near Blade Runner 2049. As a fan of star wars for almost 30 years, literally almost all of my life (as of this writing), I'm done with star wars. I'm NOT EVEN INTERESTED IN EPISODE 9. WHO CARES? As an asian observer, if americans dont even care about their own cultural treasures then why should I? Star Wars is dead.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:38:29 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A massive let down where every potential story thread and character arc is thrown in the trash compactor to make room for Kathleen Kennedy's political agenda. Also Luke Skywalker gets replaced with Jake Skywalker, because there is no way that was Luke in TLJ.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:34:33 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I'm not part of the target audience that enjoyed this catastrophe and is willing to pay for more. I've lost interest in many other beloved franchises before, but never felt so conned and so betrayed like this. As time passes though, comes indifference, and I just can't be bothered. Like many others have expressed, I've no more room for Star Wars in my entertainment, be it past or upcoming features. An X-Wing replica still sits on my desk, but it feels strangely distant now. The Last Jedi is a bitter full circle, and I'm done with Star Wars.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:34:27 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    theprionJan 10, 2018 I knew something was wrong when I reached for my watch and thought "this is taking too long". Never before I felt this way while watching an entry of my favorite movie saga ever. Up to that point I was mildly entertained - lots of eye-candy - but the over-the-top humor and a growing length that for some reason wasn't paying off were already red flags. When the credits rolled I was confused out of my mind. Since then I don't go a day without thinking how bad the whole experience was, and I just had to come over and join the almost three-thousand voters' consensus. One could point three main reasons why The Last Jedi is atrocious: 1) It's technically an awful movie: bad writing, bad pacing, bad acting, bad dialogue, bad decisions, gaping plot holes, no character development, no real journey, no accomplishments, disjointed plot; 2) It actually strives to spend the maximum screentime as possible delivering political undertones that have nothing to do with it's universe at all; and 3) shamelessly disrespects and disregards the saga's lore, world-building and legendary characters. I never thought it would come to this, since The Force Awakens was a serviceable nostalgia ride and Disney usually manages to keep the quality standards in their projects. But it's not just about nostalgia, as most of the critics are bashing the disheartened fans. The changes they defend about The Last Jedi are not thoughtful steps forwards that build on the saga's foundation. They're market-calculated decisions designed to appeal a smartphone-dumbed and twitter-minded younger audience, coupled with really shallow and trendy moviemaking. And to that merit, Episode VIII accomplishes it infamously. Also, that is where The Last Jedi does feel like closure, at least to me. I'm disgusted enough to have paid a cinema ticket to watch it, and I'll not indulge this Coca-Cola-ish brand anymore.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:32:56 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    World record breaking plot holes. This movie is so full of scenes which destroy the Star Wars films. Weaponized light speed? Just attach a lightspeed engine to a bag of bricks and shoot it at the Death Star in Ep4! Igniting lightsabers at a distance? Then why didn't Darth Vader just turn off Luke's saber? Oh wait, Luke uses the Force. Ok then why didn't Obi-Wan turn off Grevious's sabers? Ghost Yoda can shoot lightning? Then why didn't he just do that on the salt planet, or electrocute Snoke, or electrocute Kyle Ren? - Daisy Rey is invincible. Zero training, yet she's on God-mode. Ok. - Timeline: this movie picks up right after TFA. So, Rey went from a non-Force using nobody on Jakku to defeating three red guards at once (while poor male Kylo could defeat only one) in what, two weeks?! I will not see any Ep9 in theaters. I took my family to Ep8, so this is a loss of 4 tickets for Ep9. And I stopped three of my friends from seeing Ep8. So, yes, an individual can have an effect. I myself am holding back nearly $200 of revenue by not going to see the rest of these movies. Eat it, Kathleen Kennedy and your superstar team of ALL FEMALE Star Wars writers.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:32:54 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    - Forced social commentary. Every male character is full of "toxic masculinity" and therefore must be broken down into a heap of crap, whereas every woman is utterly perfect and infallible. Hint: the entire story team behind Disney's Star Wars is a group of women who specifically forbids men from joining the story team. How is this equality? Leia and Amidala were strong characters who happened to be women. Their gender was almost immaterial. That was all Lucas's doing. In Disney's Star Wars, being female is a prerequisite to being a hero, while being male is a prereq to being an incompetent toxic-masculinity patriarchal devil. Don't even get me started on the ham-fisted "capitalism is evil" casino planet nonsense. Capitalism is evil? Then how about Disney starts charging $0 admission to their stupid theme parks!

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:32:50 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie gets a 1 strictly due to the high-quality visuals. But I'd take lower-quality visual effects if it came with a better story than this pile of garbage. I created an account specifically to review this terrible movie. I'm not a bot, nor am I a Crimean spy. I'm also not a Disney employee (hint hint). I'm a very disappointed moviegoer. Here are the major problems with TLJ: - "Humor". It just wasn't funny. No one in the theater laughed at the parts which were clearly supposed to be funny. It was cringeworthy. This was a blatant attempt to copy Marvel films, and it failed miserably. - Trashing the legacy characters. Are the filmmakers so full of themselves that they think they can change how the audience feels about characters they've adored for 30 years? Luke is a murderous coward. Leia is Superwoman. Chewie is a vegan. Come on! You've been gifted one of the single greatest cinematic characters EVER in Luke Skywalker. Just show him being wise, with that signature Luke optimism, and let him kick butt with his lightsaber. But no, Luke is a man, which brings me to the next point...

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:31:17 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Worst Star Wars film ever. Unbelievable scenes "Leia Superman" with the lacking of originality: (EX: WW2 inspired bombers action, Medieval weapons with an energy setting on it). It gets worse. The wisdom and eternal fight of good and bad is…

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:30:04 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    the second act is the plot of Battlestar Galactica 1978, someone old enough to remember? This is not an iconoclastic play some trying to sale. Bad script, bad directing,bad continuity, the actors give his best but had a traitor behind the camera.