Summerside Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.68 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:17:28 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Disney decided to create a corporate, streamlined product with no narrative substance. Best example of this fact comes from incoherent or non-existent character development in Kylo Ren, Tri, and most explicitly Finn. Trash.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:05:36 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    2. Who are Rey’s parents? ‘These are not the parents we are looking for, move along.’ In a quick quip Kylo Ren invalidates all deeper interest, revealing that Rey’s parents were no-name deserters. So, no mystery to hold onto there. Unless… this is a clumsily written misdirection from a truth that would be deeper & the only logical possibility...In that this epic has no other Force lending fertile couples other than Leia & Han Solo, Rey IS Kylo Ren’s sister. For now, she is not. Her parents were nobodies. 3. We finally get to see Snoke in the flesh. He is very impressive with powers not shown before in SW-the ability to mind bridge other force users to his own ends. His origin, why he is so powerful, his aims & other abilities- never to be known. Before we could develop a better understanding or compelling fear of him, he allowed a carelessly placed lightsaber to be easily used to kill him. 4. I went in to the first showing, open to the joys of suspended disbelief, & with the Force of will to like this Star Wars movie irregardless of any incongruities & the occasional Jar Jar. The only problem was, by any measure of that far far away galaxy, this was not a Star Wars movie. It's just Mickey's Revenge on the Jedi.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 5:49:01 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This epic chase slogged us over an hour of nothingness. Suddenly we are transported to the 18th century suspense of a seagoing ship taking 3 days to driftingly overtake another. So let’s spare the further detail which will be suffered by those who still choose to see this film (code: bring a pillow & eye covers for act two). Yet we still have to get to the burning heart of the 4 mysteries we shared going into TLJ. 1. What about Luke Skywalker? 2. Who are Rey’s parents? 3. Who is Snoke? 4. Will The Last Jedi use TFA as a springboard to broaden the SW universe?....1. Luke Skywalker, the heart of the SW universe & all that we know him to be, is suddenly debased & expendable. The new Luke no longer believes in the Force. He is easily bested by a novice. To make matters worse, he betrays family-his nephew, Ben Solo, causing the storm to follow. This means that all his personal arc & the prophecy fulfillment (SW I-VI) of Luke bringing balance to the force, which he did with his father, is negated. Luke's most powerful trait, his belief in Good is also lost. SW VIII invalidates all of the greatest Star Wars' values & achievements by debasing the fundamentals of who Luke Skywalker is. Simply put, we should not have bothered to spend the previous 4 decades watching Star Wars & sharing the values in the Jedi allegories, lore & collections we all so treasure. It all means diddly now. Luke ends worse than he began.-And Yoda, evidently unimpressed that his teachings led Luke to save the galaxy years before, pops up for a few seconds to second the notion that it all has to burn. Luke’s three final accomplishments were to argue with a teenage girl as if he was still the same teenager we all met on long long ago on Tatooine, to lose belief in all that he earned through the Star Wars epics, & to die without just cause.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 5:18:01 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    There are so many many problems with this movie, and these problems are well vetted by other users, so no need to rehash. But there are legitimate reasons to hate this movie well beyond the blindly dismissive buzzwords like "toxic masculinity" and "stubborn fanboys". I will just give one example of how terrible this movie is. There is one scene in a casino where an alien dressed like Mr. Monopoly Pennybags (monocle and tuxedo) tries putting coins in BB-8, mistaking the droid to be a slot machine. Later in the movie, BB-8 fires these coins and kills stormtroopers. Let that sink in. I've polled 30+ friends/family/co-workers on this movie. My admittedly informal poll found that those that thought the movie to be terrible were older, male, successful, traditional values, and of higher IQ (not all mutually exclusive). Anybody that was a big fan of the original trilogy categorically loathed the movie. Those that loved the movie (I found very few) were typically children and younger adult females. If you loved the movie, I'm very happy for you. In fact, I'm jealous. But just know the way in which you are entertained is very different than the way in which I am entertained. Disney horrifically changed the tonality and subsequent audience for these films. They clearly pivoted the brand. I think I speak for many people given the negative user scores and quickly eroding gross receipts. To that point, sadly I will not be going to Solo or Episode IX on opening weekend as I typically do. I may not go at all. I'll wait for the reviews first. This movie was so bad that it made me stop caring about Star Wars

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 5:13:45 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Why did they use a collection of impossibly slow bombers flying DIRECTLY AT a 'Dreadnought'? (No you can't simply blame Poe for the mission, Leia was his superior, she could've overridden him. And I'd say worst of all, they wrote Luke out of the film after a cowardly way of facing Kylo Ren, while not writing out Leia. This is THE worst Star Wars film yet made, the prequels were objectively better films than this monstrosity, and felt more like Star Wars films. Compared to this pathetic attempt at a family-friendly Star Wars.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 5:05:50 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    There are some great scenes in that movie. But sadly, the price for seeing them is too high. There is no consistency in the characters, the arcs or the setting. Things happen without reason. There is no payoff to anything that was promised by the first movie in the new trilogy and to my discontent, there is no narrative coherence. Also but not the worst: cringy, childish/cartoonish and partially obstrusive humor, strange choices made by the characters, hollow performances, weird romance and a pointless 30 minute detour? Why can Rei use all the jedi tricks without proper training? Purple Lady had a very late realization. Casino planet? A lot of wasted potential. I'm flabbergasted. Switching directors mid-trilogy seems to be a poor choice in hindsight. I think I just should stop caring, it's not worth it anymore.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 5:03:28 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I went to see this movie on opening Friday, largely because of the great "critic" reviews. What a disappointment! Fundamentally it is just a mess of a story and takes easy ways out and destroys iconic characters from the originals. I really wanted to love this film.. but I feel nothing but betrayal and disgust. As a man, I felt personally insulted by all the feminist messages. If I want to be told how stupid, incompetent, reckless, weak, cowardly, farcical men are, I'd stayed at home or at work. Thanks a lot for making Star Wars a travesty.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 5:01:25 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Don't take a fan's words take Mark Hamil's, "He’s not my Luke Skywalker, but I had to do what Rian wanted me to do because it serves the story well”. This movie added NOTHING to the lose of Star Wars. You learn more about the characters in the movie from interviews rather than the movie its self. No resolution on Snoke, Knight of Ren, C3PO red arm, Rey's parents etc. The managed to actually make you not care if there is another film. Sadly the director Rian Johnson has been charged with creating another trilogy... The movie lacked originality, this Star Wars is a cross between Space Balls/ Speed (if your star ship slows down below this speed you blow up) and Mary Poppins (Leia). The social justice warriors got a hold of the script made sure every evil person is white, all men an inept, and all women are the fearless always right, wise heroes. They just forgot to make it interesting... Very sad day for the Star Wars franchise.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:56:07 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The writing is very poor, plot holes all over the place, pointless characters (Rose)... in one movie Rian Johnson and Kathleen Kennedy managed to destroy everything good about Star Wars. The treatment of Luke’s character is so poor, so lazily put together, so incoherent, so blatantly disrepectful of the original trilogy... What boggles the mind is how nobody (apart from Mark Hamill, bless his heart) tried to course correct this absolute insult of a movie. This isn’t bad because people “refuse to accept change” or “didn’t get what they wanted” or “have a problem with strong female characters”... this is bad because the writing is absolutely brain-dead.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:52:26 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    It's an atrocity. Please remake this before you do episode 9. Disney has destroyed lives with this. I say boycott Disney all across the globe. Amusement parks, movies and toys. This was heresy!!