Summerside Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.67 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 12:06:22 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    After seeing The Force Awakens I was extremely excited to see this movie. The Force Awakens was refreshing, magical, and mysterious. Yes there were monitor issues, but it was very entertaining and I hardly noticed them. So, after two years The Last Jedi was released and I was ready to go. Little did I know that I would be walking out of the theater in such disappointment. I couldn't believe it! This film did not deliver the same experience The Force Awakens provided. It felt like it was a tree whose core was rotten. It lacked something. A lot of something. It looked and sounded like Star Wars but it didn't feel like Star Wars. It felt poorly written with no clear direction. Many of my favorite characters had been completely mischaracterized. I could care less for any of the characters. There were so many moments where I found myself being ripped away from the movie and I realized I was sitting in a movie theater. Having to listen to a political lecture really took me out of the experience. I want to forget about life hear on earth and go on a magical journey and see people do impossible and amazing things. This movie was very disappointing and unsatisfying. There were many questions from The Force Awakens that weren't even addressed. The answers we did get were very underwhelming. I have very little hope for the next installment. We'll see.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 11:08:15 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The story was a sloppy, garbled and confusing mess. The decisions Rian Johnson made with Luke's character were heart-shattering. I think I speak for most fans of the original trilogy: what they did with Luke in this movie was a betrayal of the character that we know Luke is. Mark Hamill said himself he was "insulted" when he read the script. I can only imagine how offended George Lucas is. I can't bring myself to see this movie a second time because it hurts just thinking about Luke. Disney is dead to me. What an absolute shame. What an absolute failure. Done

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 11:06:20 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Hilariously bad movie. There are zero rules to anything happening in the movie, the new order always fails to accomplish anything and the resistance seems succeed out of sheer luck. Also the Plot between Rey and Luke is uninteresting while poorly trying to imitate the excitment of Lukes first Introduction to the force. I could go on ranting about nearly every aspect of this bad movie in detail, but I want to spare myself from reliving to much of this awful experience. I guess after a mediocore Episode VII I will have to accept that Disney isnt capable of capturing the essence of what made Star Wars fun. Generally it doesn't at all feel like a Star Wars movie, and you shouldn't waste your money on going to the cinema seeing this movie.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:51:34 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I don't know where to start. I guess the first 10 minutes were good. The rest was just a soulless rehash and pointless hipster virtue signalling. They literally played out the same story arc three times in the same movie. By the end of it the film has succeeded in draining any last lingering sense of interest you may have had in the plot. And the plot itself... gah... it's so bad. It's not even funny bad, its just terrible.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:47:23 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The film is terrible. The plot and text is garbage and the characters' motivations makes absolutely NO SENSE. The charater development is clearly lacking.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:43:21 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The last Jedi is a bad movie: it is horribly written, full of plotholes, and the lack of character developpement is astonishing. It is also a treason of the Star Wars Universe. The film direction is well done, but it can't hide all these patent flaws. So I will also rate it with a zero, as a sanction. Don't go see it !

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:42:05 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Last Jedi is blasphemy. Rain Johnson does not seem to understand the essence of what Star Wars is about. He cares so much about subverting expectations, that he is willing to steal your joy!

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:40:31 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Big gaps in plot, huge gaps in logic. Sorry, but I'm tired of "enemies have the IQ of about 35, are unable to plan ahead and always focus on one thing only". Two hours and thirty five minutes of wasted time. I never thought I would give a movie a zero as a rating, but here it is.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:40:30 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is without a doubt the worst Star Wars movie in the franchise, and one of the worst movies I've ever seen. No, I'm not saying that because I expected something different and am disappointed. No, I am not saying that because a beloved character dies. I am saying this because the movie has poor pacing, poor tone, completely self-contradictory and illogical plot movements, plot holes everywhere, no character arch, and simultaneously destroys any hope of the new characters being interesting AND the legacy of old heroes. The "gotcha" reversal of expectations moves, which became horribly predictable, were nauseating. The comedy never landed, and destroyed the tone. The feminist and animal activist politics were completely overbearing (and self-contradictory). At every opportunity to create good character development, the movie falls flat. Do we need to talk about alien boob milking, ships that go exactly the same speed for an entire film, useless Canto Bite missions, dying from over-meditation, or any of the other nonsensical events? Do we really need to go there? Because I can. Trust me when I say: this is not the Star Wars you were looking for. Avoid.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:22:09 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is supposed to be Star Wars. But it will never be Star Wars without George Lucas. From the Fanfiction Awakens to this movie, the characters developed in the original trilogy are ignored and poorly written. all of the new characters fail at everything they were trying to do. Rose stopping Fin from being a hero was terrible. Luke considering killing Darth Snape is too out of character. Turning the empire into Nazis is laughable. This was not Star Wars, this was Disney Wars and has ruined my opinion of Disney with Star Wars. Can someone start a petition for George Lucas to write his own versions of episodes 7, 8, and 9? We don't even need films, just books of the real story with Kira the Jedi. But as for now, all I can think is Step into the grand tour, grand tour grand tour, step into the grand tour, Star Wars GT! I hope Star wars bombs from here on out.