West Royalty Movies

Black Panther

Black Panther

Black Panther

Score: 5.64 / 10

Release Date: September 04, 2018
Director: Ryan Coogler
Producer: Kevin Feige
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Chadwick Boseman, Michael B. Jordan, Lupita Nyong'o, Danai Gurira, Martin Freeman, Daniel Kaluuya, Letitia Wright, Winston Duke, Sterling K. Brown, Angela Bassett, Forest Whitaker, Andy Serkis
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 134 minutes

Write a Review


Black Panther movie reviews

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:47:13 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Utter trash. This movie was hyped up to be the best super hero movie since The Dark Knight. Michael B. Jordan's character was said to rival Heath Ledger's joker. Okay. I really hoped the movie would be great and offer something different - especially since Black Panther was always a huge favorite of mine and I thought had some of the most creative writing and setting vs. the generic "Gotham" location. Instead we got a boring movie that is clearly only being hyped up because of the current political situation in the USA. The movie was bland, the fight scenes were boring. The acting was nothing special though Michael B. Jordan was clearly the standout - but to compare him to Heath Ledger is laughable at best. Honestly, I would have fell asleep if it wasn't for the constant clapping and cheering from my fellow millennial's. For scenes we've seen before and a story we've seen before.

  • 9

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:45:08 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A must go see film.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:42:02 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    If you want a film with a dour dreary lead character, lots of uncanny valley moments, and LOTS AND LOTS OF POLITICAL GRANDSTANDING with no payoff, then this is the film for you. Just remember The Godfather / Goodfellas / Star Wars / Schindler's List all barely broke 90%, yet THIS is supposed to be 100%! If you don't think the ratings for this are agenda driven, I've got a bridge to sell you! I do NOT want a Black Panther 2 - I think the days of single super hero movies are done

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:38:12 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I know EXACTLY who this film was geared for, and it was NOT for your typical Marvel comic book movie fan. it had good points, The tech wiz sis has major potential, Wakanda looked spectacular (if you ignore the poor water animations (the ripples in the water looked cut and paste, watch MOANA for how water can be animated!) The soundtrack bore no relation to the action (action scenes sounded the same as the quiet moments!). But the worst "crime" was the agenda it pushed. There is NO Excuse for this, as they PROVED they can have strong storyline in Winter soldier.

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:33:42 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    As for the claim that this is unlike any other Marvel film - I beg to differ - unless you refer to how insular the whole film is, as it is based almost entirely in Wakanda. Which could be acceptable, until you realise most of the action took place outside of wakanda - in the remaining 5-10% of the film! Winter Soldier was CONSIDERABLY better than this. Guardians was better and more fun! Avengers had greater scope.Ragnarok was funnier.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:30:47 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I MUST discuss the CGI. This is a MASSIVE problem. Sure Wakanda looks spectacular, but so did Asgard. It's the motion of the main characters that is the problem. It seems that whilst they can get stationary objects (buildings etc) virtually spot on now, the same can NOT be said for dynamic ones. If you have watched any of the trailers, you'll know what I mean when you see Black Panther do his somersault The dynamic CGI characters look crystal clear, whilst the real life objects have a faint blur to them. You can just see where the live action starts and the CGI ends. If the cars were CGI as well you wouldn't notice the difference so much, but it IS there, and because it seems 90% of this film is CGI, in the end it becomes very annoying.

  • 9

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:29:49 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Awesome!!!!!

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:29:33 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Andy Serkis was excellent, but far too underused - Michael B Jordan's "big bad"? I understand the anger, I don't get his ultimate goal - makes NO sense. The female bodyguards were the nearest thing to Mary sues in the movie. Really - beating up men TWICE their size with the SAME military background?

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:28:26 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The main character of the film is T'Chala - a character so depressingly dour and serious, he could be a candidate for depression. You have his younger sister - who is CLEARLY being geared up as effectively riri from the comics - she WILL be the replacement for Tony Stark! To best describe her, she is a light hearted Q from thee James Bond films - I liked her, she was fun, lively, bright, as a character a real find. If I were able to post a one or two word review, it would either be agenda or uncanny valley. Everything I feared this film would do, it did. Indeed in a couple of places it even referred to the (*spoilers*?) the slave trade! Seriously? In the 21st century you are going to refer at least twice in the same film to the slave trade - which BTW if you follow the film's premise would NOT have affected Wakanda as they were cut off from the rest of the world!

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:15:47 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The cast was amazing. The acting was not. The colors and cinematography was amazing. The story line was not. If I'm writing a very honest review that critiques this movie solely on quality of production, acting, story line, and sound, then I have to say it was bitterly disappointing. The story moves at the pace of a turtle. The story line? Incredibly predictable. The villain? Just some angry cousin that had horrendous reasoning behind his choices. Where were the awesome beats? The sounds in that first trailer were UNREAL. Not here. Marvel... you could've done so much better with this.