West Royalty Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.68 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:47:27 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Star Wars has become so inundated with feminists and SJW's that the franchise is dead. Thanks, Disney. It's movies like this that make me wish Metacritic offered negative numbers in their rating scale

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:46:17 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Rian Johnson should go back to school. He doesn't know how to write a script. He doesn't know anything about pacing as a director. Kathleen Kennedy should be fired. She was handed a golden goose and is butchering it. She's also responsible for hiring (now twice!) Rian Johnson. Nonsensical story; zero character depth or development; devoid of drama; deus ex machina galore; Mary Sue hero poser; entire subplots and characters rendered pointless; completely unaware of its place as the middle chapter in a trilogy; completely unaware of the universe it lives in; the lowest form of corporate pandering at its worst, perhaps even worse than what Nashvill has done to country music. Luke Skywalker's soul was destroyed. The Force was turned into a maguffin. Disney killed Star Wars.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:43:27 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    "Let the past die. Kill it if you have to. Thatís the only way to become what you were meant to be." This was Rian Johnson's evil plan all along. To destroy the past and mold a glorious new future. The first part of his plan succeeded. The future he was molding is in ruins. RIP Star Wars

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:41:58 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie was a dumpster fire of progressive political agenda and pathetic story telling. Shame on you Disney and Rien Johnson.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:41:25 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Probably the worst film I have seen in my life. I feel sick after watching it. Boring, answers no questions, multiple dead endings, comedy scenes completely out of place, really bad script, many characters that fade into irrelevance, incoherence... It does not entertain.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:39:53 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Bad writing. Utterly bad writing , plot holes bigger than a black hole, 2d characters with dialogue to match. To me it feels like a story someone has written just to spite all the internet rumors. Tossing away what the original three films

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:39:08 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    have been a fan of Star Wars for as long as I can remember. Every Star Wars film, including the prequels, has had moments that gave me goosebumps, the feeling I would always use to measure how a film made me feel. I had no such goosebump moment in The Last Jedi. The best word I can use to describe my experience is contempt. From very near the start of the movie, I felt an ever deepening pit forming in the bottom of my stomach. So much life is wasted in this film, heroic moments are ruined by modern sounding one liners or gestures. Luke might as well have dabbed in that scene near the end when the director wanted him to look like a badass. Why has the technology of Star Wars degraded so much and become so inconsistent? Sure, the sound and visuals were great, and the music was awesome as always thanks to John Williams, but most movies look and sound great today so that is no longer the mark of a good film. This film has no heart, no soul, or care for what came before

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:38:58 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    About 2hr 30 min after, watching TLJ, I left the theater confused, (I understand why people had to watch TLJ 2 or 3 more times. And not in a good way). I slept it over. Woke up the next day. Thought about TLJ. Became more and more angry as I thought about TLJ. Slept again. Today, 2 days after watching TLJ = MORE ANGRY as I think about TLJ. Critique of TLJ = Really weak story, plot holes after plot holes after plot holes, weak characters with little development (Sadness here - Rey, Fin, Poe deserved to shine in this episode...WASTED!), characters introduced who are inconsequential, storylines that go nowhere, forced SJW-3rd wave feminist messaging almost every other scene. (There has ALWAYS been strong men AND women in the sw universe but now only women are strong, smart, courageous, wise....okay....), forced out of place/oddly timed humour (Oh my god the phone joke!), brisk pacing for a 2hrs++ movie which remarkably lacks substance or depth ending up with heroes I am uninterested cheering for, villains that are not threatening. Then, how TLJ handled an iconic character which has been celebrated for pass a good 40 years....disrespectful. Excellent visuals and music though, which seems to be what matters these days. Ultimately you start to have the feeling that the director/writer of TLJ is giving you, star wars fans and the star wars mythos the middle finger all throughout the movie. Self indulgent, self satisfied, talentless hack. Who the f**k gave the greenlight for Rian Johnson to touch the star wars ip? People need to get fired for this. Thank god Rian Johnson was nowhere near Blade Runner 2049. As a fan of star wars for almost 30 years, literally almost all of my life (as of this writing), I'm done with star wars. I'm NOT EVEN INTERESTED IN EPISODE 9. WHO CARES? As an asian observer, if americans dont even care about their own cultural treasures then why should I? Star Wars is dead.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:38:29 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A massive let down where every potential story thread and character arc is thrown in the trash compactor to make room for Kathleen Kennedy's political agenda. Also Luke Skywalker gets replaced with Jake Skywalker, because there is no way that was Luke in TLJ.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:34:33 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I'm not part of the target audience that enjoyed this catastrophe and is willing to pay for more. I've lost interest in many other beloved franchises before, but never felt so conned and so betrayed like this. As time passes though, comes indifference, and I just can't be bothered. Like many others have expressed, I've no more room for Star Wars in my entertainment, be it past or upcoming features. An X-Wing replica still sits on my desk, but it feels strangely distant now. The Last Jedi is a bitter full circle, and I'm done with Star Wars.