West Royalty Movies

Lady Bird

Lady Bird

Lady Bird

Score: 6.71 / 10

Release Date: November 10, 2017
Director: Greta Gerwig
Producer: Eli Bush, Evelyn O'Neill, Scott Rudin
Studio: Elevation Pictures
Starring: Saoirse Ronan, Laurie Metcalf, Tracy Letts, Lucas Hedges, Timothée Chalamet, Beanie Feldstein, Stephen McKinley Henderson, Lois Smith
Rating: 14A
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 94 minutes

Write a Review


Lady Bird movie reviews

  • 10

    Lady Bird

    Tuesday, December 12, 2017 4:38:21 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Do you like me? Of course, I love you. But do you like me? The quote above from Greta Gerwig's directorial debut could have easily been taken from a conversation I've had with my own mother. That was among the many scenes of the film that felt personal, that made me realize that this isn't just a movie, that I was (or maybe still am) Lady Bird. I wish this had come out when I was still in high school. It hits all the relatable notes of self-discovery, realization, and the struggles that teens go through. It portrays perfectly the determination to change who you are, for yourself or to fit in with the "cool kids," experiencing intimacy with another person for the first time and the regret that follows because, naively, you expected it to be perfect like the romances you've seen on the screen, the realization that you don't need to go to prom with a guy to have the best night of your life, the disappointment that you didn't get accepted into the college you wanted, and the feeling of uncertainty that follows when planning your future. Gerwig captures all of this exceptionally as elements of her coming of age story. At the heart of Lady Bird, however, is the relationship between mother and daughter. We've all taken our mothers for granted. We've all been selfish, created a big deal out of nothing, rebelled, or forgot to thank her when we should have. My favourite scene is when Lady Bird's mother goes into her room to hang up her new dress while she's asleep. I didn't realize how such a small scene could impact me until I came home and found my leggings laying on my bed after having told my mom this morning that I couldn't find them. Not only is Gerwig portraying things that we know and have seen our mothers do for us, but she's also showing us the little things that we miss. The little things we take for granted. Lady Bird deserves to be celebrated. Not only because it's a meaningful story that'

  • 2

    Lady Bird

    Monday, December 11, 2017 12:11:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Really dumb dialogue. Boring plot.

  • 10

    Lady Bird

    Thursday, December 7, 2017 11:44:13 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    WOW, a movie about real people, so rare to see a glimpse of the reality of modern day life!

  • 9

    Lady Bird

    Wednesday, December 6, 2017 9:24:31 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    great story, great acting

  • 10

    Lady Bird

    Tuesday, December 5, 2017 10:58:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved this movie. The acting, direction and script were just perfect. Having read the other reviews, I would strongly suggest that adult dramatic films shoudl only be reviewed by adults above the age of 30.

  • 3

    Lady Bird

    Monday, December 4, 2017 11:00:53 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The acting was really good, but it lacked a plot. Nothing happens. At the end, I was like, where was the story? That's it?

  • 9

    Lady Bird

    Sunday, December 3, 2017 1:18:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I thought this movie was fantastic. For those who didn't like it just because Lady Bird was too self absorbed, self centered & selfish, well....guess what --- that's just realistically how teenagers ARE. The mother she has in this film isn't much of a mother to her anyway, so no other personality could really be expected of the girl. Lack of respect & consideration begets the same. Any girl of this age is looking to make a life for herself & is getting to know herself and what she wants in life. Kudos to the great acting in this so true-to-life film.

  • 10

    Lady Bird

    Saturday, December 2, 2017 1:15:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I find it amusing that people who either really dislike a film tell others to avoid it. News flash: Different tastes make the World an interesting place. "Lady Bird" is a refreshing and wonderfully scripted, acted and directed film that made me smile and think. I was talking about this lovely film for days, with friends, who also really loved it. Admittedly, if you don't like slice-of-life films that don't have THE END type of endings then this film is most likely not for you. I suggest that film goers read the synopsis of a film before seeing it. It will save you grief and will save us from reviewers that hated a film for being something they would never see, if they knew something about it. That's why I avoid Marvel Comic movies. I would never be able to write a positive review of something that has no interest to me. Lady Bird was a wonderful film, to me.

  • 4

    Lady Bird

    Saturday, December 2, 2017 12:44:21 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Lady Bird dallies between true friends, fake friends as a means of avoiding her family. I dont know.... She has a very engaging personality but as she noted: her dry hemps were better.

  • 10

    Lady Bird

    Friday, December 1, 2017 10:06:08 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    To all you dear viewers that say itís depressing and not worth the time think again !!! Itís the most accurate and sincere coming of age portrail Iíve seen in a long time . If you have a teen daughter or son go see it !!! Fantastic script and acting. I hope itís a candidate for awards season .